FACEBOOK ACCOUNT LOCKED OUT

Hi guys. I know this is not a PHP question but this is the best community on the web and I don’t know where to turn to.

My Facebook account has been temporarily locked. And now Facebook is asking me to scan and submit a Government issued ID such as my driver’s license, Social Security Number, Passport, etc.

I know they are trying to remove fake accounts, but my account is not fake by any means. This is ridiculous that they want me to send a government issued ID… I just don’t trust them to send such a personal information. Who do they think they are? The FBI?

Has any body experienced this? They don’t have any contact number or customer support email regarding this issue.

It’s frustrating and I haven’t had access to my Facebook account for over 2 weeks.

Can anybody throw some light?

Thanks guys.

I have no experience resolving situation like this with Facebook, but how else can you prove your ownership of your account? I personally do not see anything wrong in their requirement of scan of your driver’s license.

I don’t know. But my driver’s license has my home address and other personal info. They also ask for my SS# . I mean, would you give them your Social Security Number?

If all Facebook wanted was to verify that the account belongs to me, they already have my email, and some personal info that’s easily verifiable by asking questions I, as the owner of the account, would be the only person to know, such as my birthday, wife’s full name, a few friend’s names, family members, heck, my email address.

Besides a simple reset password link to my account’s email would do the trick.

Thanks for your input, though.