Displaying posts by category

Hi, i’m trying to display posts by category for a blog I am building.

I’m new to php and have been following a guide

This is in my functions.php to display posts by category.

function getPublishedPostsByCategory($category_id) {

global $conn;
$sql = "SELECT * FROM posts pc
        WHERE pc.id IN
        (SELECT post_id FROM post_category  
            WHERE category_id=$category_id GROUP BY post_id
            HAVING COUNT(1) = 1)"
$result = mysqli_query($conn, $sql);
// fetch all posts as an associative array called $posts
$posts = mysqli_fetch_all($result, MYSQLI_ASSOC);

//* * * * * * * * * * * * * * */

$final_posts = array();
foreach ($posts as $post) {
    $post['category'] = getPostCategory($post['id']);
        array_push($final_posts, $post);
}
return $final_posts;

And in the page where I am displaying the posts I have

<?php // Get posts under a particular topic if (isset($_GET['category'])) { $categoy_id = $_GET['category']; $posts = getPublishedPostsByCategory($category_id); } ?>

I’m getting the error

Notice : Undefined variable: posts in /home/ttestdmor/public_html/filtered_posts.php on line 31

Warning : Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /home/ttestdmor/public_html/filtered_posts.php on line 31

Can anyone help me fix this? Don’t understand why it is happening.

EDIT: mangaed to get it down to just this error - Invalid argument supplied for foreach()

Thanks

Simon

Hi Sieb,

To me it seems a very logic notice. Only if the if statement returns true then $posts will be initialized. Here is a better approach:

<?php

// introduce new variables that will exist for sure and give them a default value
$categoy_id = 0;
$posts = array();

if (isset($_GET['category'])) { 
    // if TRUE then overwrite the default values
    $categoy_id = $_GET['category']; 
    $posts = getPublishedPostsByCategory($category_id);
}

// now $category_id and $posts will exist for sure :slight_smile:
?>