directory/file structure for using INCLUDES function

Hi all,
I am a a student … I have been in PHP online class for 6 weeks and everything was going fine… now I am STUCK.
My assignment is to take on template, break it into index, header, and footer files, and use the includes function in the index file to attached header and footer files. I have to attach the css files as well.
My problem is the directory structure. The book says to: “Create an includes directory in the same file as index.php.” My school provides a webdocs section for students to use their server, so I put index in the webdocs via FTP then I made a folder while in webdocs called includes.php and put the header and footer files in that. Then I put the css file in the webdocs folder. When i go to my files online I only get the index file and it only shows the index page. I have changed the name of the includes file, and moved header and footer files inside and outside of includes file. I can’t figure out what I am doing wrong. I need a different wording for this sentence in the text “Create an includes directory in the same file as index.php” as file structuring is my weakness. THANK YOU in advance for your help.

The folder name should be simply “includes”

Post your code in index.php (be sure to use the forums php tags)

[php] <?php # Script 3.4 - index.php
$page_title = ‘Welcome to this site!’;
include (’/includes/header.html’);
?>

Content Header

<p> This is where the page-specific content goes. This section, and the 
  corresponding header, will change from one page to the next. </p>

<p> This is a where a bunch of text is put to fill in the screen with content. They use latin. I use blah, 
  blah, blah as this expression expresses so much so often, right? So, blah, blah, blah and so on and so forth. 
  So, blah, blah, blah and so on and so forth.So, blah, blah, blah and so on and so forth.   So, blah, blah, blah