Date

Hello, I am new to PHP but I am ok at coding using Xhtml and CSS. I am trying to learn PHP and decided to incorporate little bits of PHP into my website (website in the making still on local host) before I went all out with forms and stuff. All I am trying to do is display the date. When I put the php code in below 2 things happen. 1st is on my local host on the top left side this happens “?»?” (inside the quotes). This is rather anoying looking, but the date does appear correctly. When I view it in firefox and IE with the PHP coding in it screws up some stuff like font size…? I don’t know whats going on there except you are only supposed to be able to see php in a local host or server that supports php correct?

Anyway my basic question is am I doing the code right? And what is making the ?»? appear.

Hear is my code…

Goldfish Graphics
"Goldfish
Home         Services         Portfolio         Contact

Testimonies

""

Home

Example

News (<?PHP echo date("D M d, Y"); ?>)

Edample

Your PHP code looks correct. To get rid of those crazy characters I would try removing all at the top:

and Replace with the just the simple…

and see if this makes any kind of a difference.

I don’t think thats the problem. If I veiw my page without the Php in my browser it looks fine. All that mumbo jumbo is what makes my page W3 xhtml strict compliant. I actually just tried it and it didn’t work. Any other suggestions?

I see what you mean. When I look at the source code from the local host those symbols are in front of the doc type. When I look at it on my D drive. It isn’t there… How do I edit something thats not there?

What code editor are you using?? I seem to remember having this problem back when I first stated out and I think it was due to me using a standard wordpad that comes with Microsofts OS’s.