Connecting to MySQL DB Confirmation

I am simply connecting to the MySQL database but for the life of me I cannot see or find any proof that the connection succeeded!

In my index.html I have: <?php include 'connect.php';?>

Here is the connect.php:

<?php
$servername = "localhost";
$username = "root";
$password = "password";
$db = "testdb";

// Create connection
$conn = new mysqli($servername, $username, $password, $db);

// Check connection
if ($conn->connect_error) {
    // die("Connection failed: " . $conn->connect_error);
trigger_error("Could not connect!",E_USER_ERROR);
echo "<h2>Connection Failed!</h2>";
}
   echo "<h2>Connected successfully</h2>";

?>

I’m not seeing anything about the connection! I’m taking it a step at a time. First, connect and verify connection. Then I will actually fetch or store something in the DB.

I’ve looked in the apache2 and mysql logs. Nothing.

I am new to php so I’m probably doing something wrong?

Thanks

Ray

By default, php code is NOT parsed and interpreted in .html files. Use a .php extension for any file that contains php code.

Next, use ‘require’ for things you code needs for it to work. This will halt execution if the file/path is not found, which will prevent follow-on errors.

Use exceptions to handled database statement errors (connection, query, prepare, and execute) and in most cases let php catch and handle the exception where it will use its error related settings to control what happens with the actual error information (database errors will get displayed or logged the same as php errors.) The exception to this rule is when you need to detect the insertion/update of duplicate user submitted data. In this case, your code should catch the exception, detect if a duplicate error occurred, and setup a useful error message. Using exceptions for errors will let you eliminate all the error handling logic you have now.