Checking database values before allowing updates

Actually I have four questions but first just a bit of background…

I’m using Dreamweaver and I am a novice/beginner with php, although I’ve read a few thick books on php, so I can handle tweaks to what Dreamweaver lays out fairly competently(I hope!). I have created an online utility for use in my online baseball league that will allow league members to place bids on free agents baseball players(you will see a screenshot below). It works perfectly as far as updating the database with the latest bid and a time stamp. However, I would like to add the following:

1. A feature which will not allow another bid if 24 hours has passed
  2. A feature that automatically enters the logged in user in the ‘team’ field behind the scenes so I can remove the ‘team’ field from the form.
  3. A feature that limits the number of times a logged in user can bid on a specific player(all have player id’s as primary keys).
  4. Finally, I want this utility to disallow any bid that is not greater than or equal to 1.1 * current bid in the database. This is the part where I want to compare with what’s in the database fields before it gets updated.

My website is http://asahi2.montoyahome.com

Here is screenshot of what I have so far:

Here is the code I have so far. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. :)

[code]