Check wordpress posts and display expiration date

Hi, i’m a beginner in PHP and Wordpress and i would appreciate help on project i’m working on.

Currently i am using the below code to: query a specific post and then echo it’s expiration date (expiration date is set through a plugin) in a wordpress site:

<?php $postid = 3823; $date_format = __( 'd / m / Y' ); $expiration_date = get_post_meta( $postid, '_expiration_date', true); echo date_i18n( $date_format, strtotime( $expiration_date ) ); ?>

This is working fine. What i would like it to do is:

• I will have 2 posts, 1 published and one scheduled
  • Query both posts, check which is publiched and echo it’s expiration date

Thanks,
Charis

Well, your current code is simple to understand.

The question is how do you know which is published or scheduled. I would assume you have a field value
similar to your “_expiration_date”, something like “_scheduled_or_not” or whatever. You will need to know
what that field name is before you can compare it. Then, you can load a PHP variable with that value just
like you did the $expiration_date variable. Then, just compare it to echo what you need.

Not sure if this has helped. The first step it to find out how your system indicates scheduled or posted.

Thanks for your response. After some research and some help here’s what i came up with:

[php]<?php
$postid = 3823;
$date_format = __( ‘d / m / Y’ );
$expiration_date = get_post_meta( $postid, ‘_expiration_date’, true);
if (get_post_status($postid)==‘publish’)
echo date_i18n( $date_format, strtotime( $expiration_date ) );
?>