Can't Echo or Append to an Array within Functions

I’ve created a master array that I want to be able to append to in a couple of functions, depending on conditions, using array_push. I also want to be able to echo the values of the array from inside of a function.

When I do these without the function, everything works fine. When I put it in a function, I get nothing. Not sure what I’m doing wrong. Do I need to do something special to make an array able to be affected inside of functions?

Thanks!

sounds like a scope issue. Are you doing procedural or object oriented coding?

I’m fairly new to php, with a background in classic ASP… so it’s possible I blew my scope. This is more of a procedural. Nutshell looks like this:

1. The array is established
  2. The “character” makes a decision, based on randomizing his 3 key deciding stats
  3. Call the function to determine how he did with his decision (like “defend” vs the oppoonent’s randomized stat)
  4. Add a new line to the array with the result, and go back to the decision maker again

My plan is to store the array at the end, in a db, for playback at a later time, which is why I need to build it out this way.

Thanks!

this is too abstract, and way too formal without any background on your project. Just show an example code that we can copy and paste, including some sample data and your desired output.

Sure thing. I’ve been trying to work with it, but here’s where I am:

$gamepbp=array(“Austin Minotaurs vs Nashville Overtone”, “Ready for the tip”);

$ActiveHomePlayerShootO = 86;
$ActiveVisPlayerShootD = 54;

function takeShot() {
//Randomize Stats
$ActiveShotAttempt = rand(1,100) * $ActiveHomePlayerShootO;
$ActiveShotDefend = rand(1,100) * $ActiveVisPlayerShootD;

//Compare Stats

if ($ActiveShotAttempt >= $ActiveShotDefend) {
        $pbpupdate = "Moon hits a shot!";
        $HomePoints = $HomePoints + 2;
    } else {
        $pbpupdate = "Moon has his shot blocked!";
    }

//Append to Array