Cannot connect to MySQL

I’m trying to connect to MySQL with PHP (IIS 10, Win 10, MySQL5.7) using data from an O’Reilly book. Following the opening php tag I have:-
require_once ‘login.php’;
$db_server = mysql_connect($db_hostname, $db_username, $db_password);
if (!$db_server) die ("Unable to connect: " . mysql.error());
The usename is the first 4 letters of my name (obtained from the mysql ini file) and the password is the same one I use if using MySQL via the command line. Hostname is ‘localhost’.
The if…die statement doesn’t seem to be reached. Instead I get:-
PHP Fatal error: Uncaught Error: Call to undefined function mysql_connect() in C:\inetpub\wwwroot\php\sqlquery.php:3 Stack trace: #0 {main} thrown in C:\inetpub\wwwroot\php\sqlquery.php on line 3
As this is my first attempt at PHP/MySQL (hence very green!), and the book doesn’t cover it, I’m hoping someone can point me in the right direction??
Many thanks in anticipation.

The book is way too old to cover that situation then. You have not mentioned which PHP version you use, but i guess it’s something like 7.0 or above, but as you can read from the manual

https://www.php.net/manual/en/function.mysql-connect.php

This extension was deprecated in PHP 5.5.0, and it was removed in PHP 7.0.0.

I don’t know what the rest of the book says, but i would recommend to buy a new one that covers a PHP version of 7.0 and above, or use online tutorials. You can start here:

Hmm Checking my book it’s, as you say, way out of date! And yes PHP 7.3. Looks like I’m gonna be spending money on a book (again!).
Thanks v much for your reply and the web link.

Maybe save some money and check out php resources such as on w3 schools, pretty comprehensive

Mysqli:-
<?php
$servername = “localhost”;
$username = “username”;
$password = “password”;

// Create connection
$conn = new mysqli($servername, $username, $password);

// Check connection
if ($conn->connect_error) {
    die("Connection failed: " . $conn->connect_error);
}