Backtrace question

Hello, i am hoping that someone can confirm a legitimate use of backtrace. i am building a web site as follows:

outside of root
[dir] holds template files for header.php, footer.php and content pages

web root
[dir] with [dir] with [dir] with [dir] with [dir] index.php

the index.php is simply include statements calling header, content, footer outside of root.
i decided to use backtrace to display link titles based upon directory names.

the title="<?php titlefunction(); ?>" works but i am using a Windows10 machine with xampp. i can’t see a reason why this would not work on a real server on a linux machine but i am an amateur. i’d hate to replace all of my typing with auto code that stops working on a real server. can someone confirm that this works on a real server? is this method ok? i just want to use the directory name in the title attribute of a link. remember that the file is outside of the root so i use backtrace to get the dir names based upon the location of the calling file (in this case index.php).

Thank you.

Trying to understand what you mean. Backtracing is for debugging, not making an app work.

As for what you are doing, you can do that, but I would use classes for it and a class autoloader.

<?php
function DeepDirTitle($step) {
    $tracer = debug_backtrace();
    $deep1020 = dirname($tracer[1]['file']);
    $deepPath = dirname($deep1020, $step);
    if ($step > 0) {
      echo basename($deepPath);
    } else {
      echo basename($deep1020);
    }
}
?>

i use this code in the SpeciesHeader.php template.
if i don’t use backtrace, then the dir names are called from the nature folder outside of the root. i want the dir names from the directories holding the index files that include the SpeciesHeader.php template.

Birds
DeepDirTitle(3) reveals Aves as the title.
using echo basename($deep1020); i can show the scientific species name without typing it into the html.