ARRAYS

I’m really new to PHP, I’m working with a dummies book and I’m having a problem with arrays according to the book. it say’s to run a query this will put the data in a temp location in this case with the variable $RESULT.

Where can I find this temp location.

The statement
$query= “SELECT * FROM PET”;
$result = mysql_query($query)

or die (“Couldn’t execute query.”);

(should the above be a PHP file ? (Like I said I’m really new to this)

as far as i can see, all it does is store the data in the variable. since a variable IS a temporary data holder, that would be what it’s talking about. if you’re looking to get the date selected into an array, you can try making a new variable like this and using mysql_fetch_array:

[php]<?php
$query= “SELECT * FROM PET”;
$result = mysql_query($query) or die (“Couldn’t execute query.”);
$array = mysql_fetch_array( $result );
?>[/php]

Then you could do something like the below to print out the output. I’ll create a few fake column names since I don’t know what you have in your table:

[php]
$output = "ID: ".$array[‘id’];
$output .= "Name: ".$array[‘name’];
$output .= "Address: ".$array[‘address’];
print $output;
[/php]

What mysql_fetch_array does is make the variable the data is stored in an associate array with the table’s column names as keys (‘id’, ‘name’, ‘address’, etc.) Similarly, if you read a bit ahead and learn about objects, you could use mysql_fetch_object, in which case your item would be stored as an object:

[php]

<?php $query= "SELECT * FROM PET"; $result = mysql_query($query) or die ("Couldn't execute query."); $object = mysql_fetch_object( $result ); $output = "ID: ".$object->id; $output .= "Name: ".$object->name; $output .= "Address: ".$object->address; print $output; ?>

[/php]

If you’re trying to access multiple mysql rows of data with that statement, you can do something like this:
[php]