Appending to XML File

Hello,

I have posted this on another forum with no response. I am usually able to figure things out in time but this one has me stumped. I am fairly new to PHP but have poked around with it from time to time for the last few years. I can usually find a tutorial or a an example and make it work for what I need. That is how I have gotten to this stage of my project.

I have a script that creates an XML based on 1 game number and 20 random numbers. The script will successfully create the XML tree each time it is ran. The problem is when it runs it appends the new tree at the end and my flash errors with it not being well structured.

I am wondering if the lack of response to my problem is that a lot of coders are not versed in the DOM. It is complicated to me, although I now understand how to read in an XML file and Write and XML file. I just can no grasp how to edit and append data to an XML file.

The way my script works is it gets fired from an event in my flash application every 5 minutes. If the file is not there then it gets created and the game number is 1 and randomly generates 20 numbers. Then in about 5 minutes it fires off again. Because there is data in in the file the new data must be appended inside the root node but after the /Game node. This has to happen for each new set of data.

I am thinking that that best way to tackle this is to read the entire XML tree structure in each time and then add the new data and rewrite the file. How big is too big to work with XML trees like this? How much memory can I expect to use on the larger files. Will it cause a problem for system resources. And finally is there possibly a better way to achieve the same results?