Apache routing to index confusion

Hello PHP World, I am a beginner back-end programmer. I have very limited knowledge and experience. However, i should still be able to make a website if i want to do so. I often feel that tech giants, or powers that be, try to control us with learning curves. I can design an html and css website but i need backend power to create a viable business, albeit small business. My lack of knowledge keeps getting in the way. I often receive tips to use frameworks which i find to be cumbersome and more like inhibitors to my html css designs. Everytime i read about how to use a framework, i leave the page in seconds. I do not want to attend a university to build a PHP login website. My point here is that i am trying to learn about routing, controllers and frameworks on my own. Today, i have tried to think about this concept and try some things to see what works. I discovered something that is very problematic and i seek an answer to this problem:

i have enabled the Apache Rewrite engine and set conditions as follows:

RewriteEngine On
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteRule ^ index.php [L]

I understand this to mean “if file or directory does not exist, then send to index.php” and this is how it works. Originally, i thought that all traffic is routed to index.php but the not symbol is pretty clear now.

Meantime, i wanted to see how one could capture a fake link. Thus, i came up with the following code (this is just test code to see what happens). So index.php:

<?php
 $street = $_SERVER['REQUEST_URI'];
 $streetMap = explode("/", parse_url($street, PHP_URL_PATH));
 $street = NULL;

if ($streetMap[1] == "OneStr") {
      echo "Street One<br />";
      echo "<a href=\"/\">Return to index</a>";
      exit;
 } else {
?>

<html>
<head>
  <title></title>
</head>
<body>

<a href="OneStr/">Street One</a><br />

</body>
</html>

<?php
 }
 exit;
?>