How to use password_verify

Hi all,

First post on here! Hope someone can help :smiley:

On my website, I have a register form which uses password_hash to encrypt passwords. I am trying to make a login form which checks what the user enters against the encrypted password.
My setup for login: login.html is the front end and userlogin.php is the backend.
The code I currently have but doesn’t work is:
[php] //check password against encryption method
$password = $_POST[“password”];
$secretpassword = password_hash($password, PASSWORD_BCRYPT);

//check for required fields from the form
if(isset($_POST["username"], $_POST["password"])){
	if(password_verify($password, $securepassword)){
	header("Location: userlogin.html");
	exit; }
}[/php]

password_verify takes in what the user entered (plain text) and what the stored hash is, not a new hash and the old hash.

Thanks, astonecipher.
I’m very new to this PHP stuff, is there anything you would suggest I change?
Thanks,
Jack

[php]
if(password_verify($password, $securepassword)){

header(“Location: userlogin.html”);

exit; }
[/php]

Why would you redirect to the login page if the password matches?

I thought that was to tell the code where the username and password fields were?
In the simple piece of code that works it has that header and when I login with a user that doesn’t have an encrypted password it directs them to a different page called secretpage.

You have it completely bass akwards. Why would you send someone to the secret page if they failed the login?

It doesn’t take an unauthorised used to the secret page.
What I meant is:
I have a user in my database which does not have an encrypted password, it has been stored as plain text. So when I login with that unencrypted password it directs me to the secret page. If an incorrect password is entered it keeps them on the login page.
Hope this makes more sense, I’m not the best at this! 8)