Help with a navigation bar.

Hi. I’m new to web design. I have a nav bar that changes when the window size is small (either on resize or on a smaller device). I’m having issues with the code though. I want it when the user hovers on the nav bar or clicks on it when it’s in the smaller window sized mode, the menu pops out from the side instead of from on top. I’ve managed to get it so when the user hovers over the menu bar, the menu bar text changes colour. So I’m pretty certain I need code in that block. I just don’t know how to do what I want or if it’s even possible with my current code. I think I might have to start all over from scratch. Anyway, here’s a snippet of my code. I can post more if needed.

<!-- just a snippet of my test.html file -->
<body>
        <!-- clearfix is used to combat the zero-height -->
        <!--  container problem for floated elements    -->
        <nav class="clearfix">
                <ul class="clearfix">
                        <li><a href="#">Home</a></li>
                        <li><a href="#">Forums</a></li>
                        <li><a href="#">Transfer Area</a></li>
                        <li><a href="#">Online Manual</a></li>
                        <li><a href="#">Register</a></li>
                        <li><a href="#">Sign in</a></li>
                        <li><a href="#">Contact</a></li>
                </ul>
                <a href="#" id="pull">Menu</a>
        </nav>
</body>

Here’s a snippet of my CSS file:

/* All the buttons are in a ul */
        nav ul {
                height: auto;
                width: 40%;
                float: left;

/* Set display to none to make the menu "hidden" by default */
//              display: none;

/* Our attempt at getting to slide out from the side */
                position: absolute;
                left: -140px;
        }

/* Settings for the text on the small nav bar */
        nav a#pull {
                display: block;
                width: 100%;