upgrade to website server to php 5.4.30 caused website not to work

Error Notices
Fatal error: Call to undefined function session_is_registered() in /home/cctvug/public_html/member_auth_fns.php on line 28
Fatal error: Call to undefined function session_is_registered() in /home/cctvug/public_html/member_auth_fns.php on line 28

I appreciate 5.4.30 no longer contains the session_is_registered type of function. Have tried to use $_SESSION etc but I have little knowledge on php, so that didn’t work !!

The Code attached is taken from a download I did before all this happened so should be how it was before 5.4.30 – Can any of you experts point me in the right direction on both member login to site, and admin login to amend the contents, both use similar code.

Thanks in advance for your help
Learner

[php][/php]

<? function login ($member_name, $password) // check member and password with db // if yes, return true //else return false { // connect to db $conn = db_connect(); if (!$conn) return 0; $result = MySQL_query(“select * from people where username='$member_name' and password = '$password' "); if (!$result) return 0; if (MySQL_num_rows($result)>0) return 1; else return 0; } function check_auth_member Some text here global $auth_member; if ( (session_is_registered("auth_member")) && (isset($auth_member)) ) return true; else return false; } ?>

Hello,

You can put session_register(); on the first line of every script that uses $_SESSION (I prefer to use this on all scripts since I don’t know if I’m going to be using it later or not). Then, assign ‘auth_member’ to a SESSION variable: $_SESSION[‘auth_member’] = ‘foo’. Then just use the following:

[php]if(isset($_SESSION[‘auth_member’]))[/php]

…in your check_auth_member function. This should stop the errors and allow your script to work as you want it.

Cheers!

[PHP]