Separate landing pages ... using session variables, cookies, or what ?

0 down vote favorite

This is probably a dumb question. I have a Web site that uses php and html with a bit of Javascript. I am trying to set it up so there are multiple landing pages. I think it would work if all the remaining .php files on the site were kept identical but there were separate index_a.php, index_b.php files, etc; there would need to be only slight differences between these. The only problem is when the user clicks “Home” they of course get the root index.php. Is there a way to store the name (or some other indication) of what the user’s landing page was for that session (using PHP session variables or I don’t know what) and have the user directed to that page again when they click Home ?

Any help would be much appreciated (keeping in my mind I am a relative newbie and any solution would need to be pretty simple and safe to load on a server). Any straightforward way way to do this ? It must be something that is fairly commonly required.

No problem, as long as you are using sessions you can store anything you like in the $_SESSION global array.

So when a user logins just do something like this

[php]if ($loginIsOk) {
$_SESSION[‘user’] = $user; // you probably do something like this already to know the user is logged in
$_SESSION[‘landing’] = ‘index_b’; // whatever logic to select the landing page could go here
}[/php]

As long as you use session on all pages it will work like this

[ol][li]User hits yourpage.com - included in the request is browser info, cookies, etc[/li]
[li]session_start() fires up the session system[/li]
[li]If the user has a PHPSESSID cookie, this id is used to load the users session data into $_SESSION[/li]
[li]If not then the user is assigned an ID and a PHPSESSID cookie is sent back to be used in future requests[/li][/ol]

so.

On login, set some session param (call it whatever you like) to hold your custom index id