the unforgiving: foreach()

Error:
Invalid argument supplied for foreach() (2)

Code:
[embed=425,349]if(isset($_POST[‘submit’])) {
foreach($_POST[‘set’] as $name => $value) {
$db->query(“UPDATE settings SET conf_value = '”.mysql_real_escape_string($value)."’ WHERE conf_name = ‘".$name."’");
}
$set=array();
$settq=$db->query(“SELECT * FROM settings”);
while($r=$db->fetch_row($settq)) {
$set[$r[‘conf_name’]]=$r[‘conf_value’];
}
$saved = true;
}[/embed]

php 5.6

This right here is one of my worst enemies. What I do know about php has been self taught through hands on work, research, failures, and friends.

Yes, I’m looking for a solution, but hopefully a lesson in what exactly foreach is.

What is your worst enemy is the obsolete dangerous code that has been completely removed from Php that you are using. You need to use PDO with prepared statements.

https://phpdelusions.net/pdo

PDO change over would not be cost effective at this moment. The script is a commercial script, and I would prefer to keep things cheap (not do an entire overhaul) until it is launched and deems the costly revamp.

What can I do for the mysqli/php 5.6?

That to me is like trying to put a bandaid on the hole the iceberg made on the Titanic. It’s going to sink anyways. :o

Anyways I have no idea why you’re using a foreach loop on a $_POST statement?

I would just pull it maybe doing something like this way?
[php]$data[‘name’]= htmlspecialchars($_POST[‘name’]);[/php]

as for doing the obsolete way I can’t help you and I think updating to the new way isn’t that big of overhaul but that’s my opinion.

but here’s how I update using PDO :
[php] $db = DB::getInstance();
$pdo = $db->getConnection();
$query = ‘UPDATE cms SET heading=:heading, content=:content, date_updated=NOW() WHERE id =:id’;
$stmt = $pdo->prepare($query);
$result = $stmt->execute([’:heading’ => $data[‘heading’], ‘:content’ => $data[‘content’], ‘:id’ => $data[‘id’]]);[/php]