indexing and searching

hi guys im looking for a script that will allow users to enter a keyword in an html form which will then be used as a search word within a directory so if the person searches mp3 it would return a list of files named containing the NAME mp3. ive found a script online that does this but it has one problem - it only searches for content within the root folder and doesnt include sub directories.

any help would be greatly appreciated ( i have no PHP knowledge )

[php]<?php
//////////////////////
// © Nadav Ami 2009 //
// Version 1.2 //
//////////////////////

$dirname dir(".");
$findme = $_POST[“search”];

$dir = opendir($dirname);

while(false != ($file = readdir($dir))){//Loop for every item in the directory.
if(($file != “.”) and ($file != “…”) and ($file != “.DS_Store”) and ($file != “search.php”))//Exclude these files from the search
{
$pos = stripos($file, $findme);
if ($pos !== false){
$thereisafile = true;//Tell the script something was found.
echo’’ . $file . ‘
’;//Display the search results as links.
}else{
//Leave this blank
}
}
}
if (!isset($thereisafile)){
echo “Nothing was found.”;//Tell the user nothing was found.
echo ‘’;//Display an image, when nothing was found.
}
?>

[/php]

Well, a short jump to the net to remember a command that I seldom use found that you can do your search
in what is called a “recursive” search thru your folders in just a few commands. You have to use a command
called “RecursiveDirectoryIterator”. You could use the scandir or other such commands, but, this one seems
to be exactly what you are looking for. Here is a link to the PHP.NET site to explain it further. Note the
programmers comments down the page a bit that explain various things you can do with this command.
http://php.net/manual/en/class.recursivedirectoryiterator.php

So, really only two lines of code is needed! Here is the basic layout of how it works…
[php]
// Set up the target directory ( top directory or folder, sub-folders will be parsed )