Help with PHP , MySQL and WAMP

Ok , so i have this code . When i press submit , with , lets say , Bob , written in the Username box , it says "ErrorUnknown column ‘Bob’ in ‘field list’ " . I dont know what is wrong , and could use some help .Here is my PhPMyAdmin info :Apache/2.2.21 (Win64) PHP/5.3.8
MySQL client version: mysqlnd 5.0.8-dev - 20102224 - $Revision: 310735 $
PHP extension: mysqli
Server: localhost (localhost via TCP/IP)
Server version: 5.5.16-log
Protocol version: 10
User: root@localhost
MySQL charset: UTF-8 Unicode (utf8)
phpMyAdmin
Version information: 3.4.5
As you can see , i have a basic login page , and an mysql page , to introduce the data .
Yes , i am a noob … I dont really know what to do . Anyway , thank you for your time .

[code]

registrationt

Login

Username

Password

Submit <?php
if (isset($_GET['msg'])
{
   $message=$_GET['msg'] ;
   if ($message == "1")
    echo  Entry succesfully inserted! ;
}

?>
</td>
</tr>
</body> 

<?php $con = mysqli_connect ("localhost", "root", "","users") or die("Failed to connect" .mysqli_connect_error()) ; $username = mysqli_real_escape_string($con, $_POST [ 'username' ]) ; $password = mysqli_real_escape_string($con, $_POST [ 'password' ]) ; $query = "INSERT INTO login (username, password) values ($username, $password) " ; if(!mysqli_query($con, $query)) { echo "Error" .mysqli_error($con) ; } else { header("Location: registration.html?msg=1") ; } ?>

[/code]

AND , if i dont write anything , it says “ErrorYou have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near ’ )’ at line 1”

Don’t use this
mysqli_real_escape_string

use real prepared statements.

I think that is the root of the issue.

If you hard code either values of empty strings “” does it still give the syntax error?

I hit a new error …